The Vampires of Melbourne series

The Vampires of Melbourne series is set in contemporary Melbourne and consists of two novels (both out of print) and two short stories.


The Opposite of Life (2008) Out of print

The Opposite of Life is the story of a very geeky librarian who stumbles into a series of murders in Melbourne. In trying to make sense of the deaths and her a past filled with traumatic loss, she discovers that vampires are real – but not all of them are killers. She meets another total geek – the painfully awkward vampire Gary Hooper, whom the vampire community has set onto investigating who is killing humans in such an unnecessary and awkward attention-getting way.

Lissa and Gary joins forces to get to the undead heart of the matter and to their joint surprise find they are becoming friends. But the idea of living forever can be a big temptation for someone who has lost so much, and the consequences of this investigation may affect Lissa much more closely than she could have expected.

Walking Shadows (2012) Out of print

Walking Shadows is the sequel to The Opposite of Life. Launched at Continuum 8 on June 8 2012, it was nominated for the Chronos Awards for SF and fantasy, and shortlisted for the Davitt Awards for crime writing.

What’s an ordinary geekgirl librarian to do when hardcore vampire killers begin killing off Melbourne’s vampire population, and her undead bestie is on the hit list? Should she throw herself in mortal danger, despite having no battle skills, let alone supernatural strength? Lissa risks everything to protect someone who should be perfectly capable of protecting himself. And Gary finds that the ways he’s changing might make him more human – if they don’t get him killed first.

Short Stories

“Showtime” (set after The Opposite of Life) appears in the collection Showtime by Twelfth Planet Press

“Bad Night at Bite Club” (set after Walking Shadows) appears in the collection Scar Tissue and Other Stories, published by Clan Destine Press

NEW: Book-inspired hand-made jewellery

If you love these stories, you might enjoy wearing jewellery inspired by Gary, Lissa, Melbourne and vampires –  and made by me! Check out the Dangerous Charm Vampires of Melbourne range.